Dec. 15 – 19, 2017

Qinhuangdao, China

Team NZ 2017

    Team NZ 2017 is the group of 16 students participate to the International Robot Olympiad 2017.

    The member of Team NZ 2017 are top ranked students of the New Zealand Robot Olympiad 2017.

    This is the first participation to the International Robot Olympiad as a Team NZ.

    Team NZ got 4 Silvers, 5 Bronzes, and 9 Technical awards. 


Members of Team NZ 2017

Junior Group

    Ella Jihyeon Ahn (Forrest Hill Primary School)
    Chen Xi Sun (Hebron Christian College)
    Young Min Ko (Newmarket Primary School)
    Jaeheon Woo (Sherwood primary school)
    Kevin Guo (Mairangi Bay School)
    Henry Ma (Silverdale Primary School)

Challenge Group
    Daniel Kim (Rangitoto College)
    Robert Han (Northcross Intermediate School)
    Daniel Sunghyun Shin (Kings School)
    Joey Sehan Back (Rangitoto College)
    Minwoo Lee (Rangitoto College)
    Chloe Park (Rangitoto College)
    Christopher William Song (Auckland International College)
    Ray Kim (Takapuna Normal Intermediate School)
    Hyun Seo Lee (Takapuna Normal Intermediate School)
    Peter Cheong (Kings College)

     Ho Seok Ahn (Team NZ Director)
    Nick Rew (Team NZ Technical Coach)
    Seol Hee Kim (Manager)
    Hannah Nie (Manager)
    Su Young Kim (Manager)


IRO 2017 Winners

Creative Robot 

Silver medal: Peter Cheong (Kings College​)
​Silver medal: Hyun Seo Lee (Takapuna Normal Intermediate School​)
– ​Bronze medal: Joey Sehan Back (Rangitoto College​)
Bronze medal:​ Minwoo Lee (Rangitoto College​)
​Bronze medal:​ Chloe Park​ (Rangitoto College​)​ 
Technical award: Daniel Kim​​ (Rangitoto College​)​​
Technical award: ​Robert Han​ (Northcross Intermediate School​)
Technical award: ​Christopher William Song​ (Auckland International College​)
Technical award: ​Ray Kim​ (Takapuna Normal Intermediate School​)​
Technical award: ​Daniel Sunghyun Shin (Kings School)

Robot in Movie

​– Silver medal: Peter Cheong (Kings College​)
Silver medal: Hyun Seo Lee (Takapuna Normal Intermediate School​)
Technical award: Daniel Kim​​ (Rangitoto College​)​​
Technical award: ​Joey Sehan Back (Rangitoto College​)
Technical award: ​Minwoo Lee (Rangitoto College​)
​Technical award: ​Chloe Park​ (Rangitoto College​)​

Battle Cube

​– Bronze ​medal: Kevin Guo​ (Mairangi Bay School)
​​Bronze ​medal: Henry Ma​ (Silverdale Primary School​)



    NZ Robot Olympiad Association

    CILab (Creative Imagination Laboratory)

    The University of Auckland

    CARES (Centre for Automation and Robotic Engineering Science)

    Hi Well Charitable Foundation

    Barfoot & Thompson (Mairangi Bay Branch, Sunny Chae)